Skip to content

All Done with Bubble Gum

October 12, 2005

Finished sweater! See how it is sunny in the pictures? That is because I took these pictures this weekend. It is not sunny anymore, and probably won’t be again until sometime in March. Sigh. But it is cool enough out now to wear a sweater, and that is good.

Close up to see the sweater:

And further back, to see my matching pink shoes:

Specs:
Pattern: Bare that Belly from The Yarn Girl’s Guide to Simple Knits.
Yarn: Cotton-Ease in Bubble Gum Pink with Orangeade edges and Cherry Red, Orangeade, Pineapple, and Popsical Blue stripes. Yummy names!
Needles: US7 circs, although the only part knit in the round was the neckline.
Things I learned: 1) Cotton-Ease is fun, colorful, easy to knit with, and, oh yeah, cheap. And it washes in the machine. Too bad is is discontinued. 2) Do knit ribbed edges with smaller needles. I did not on this one, and I am not going to go back to fix it. But the bottom hem does like to flare out or curl up because it is loser than the body. 3) Knit the arms at the same time. I waited about a month between these, and the difference in gauge is enough to make one arm a good 3 inches longer than the other. An acceptable mistake for a Cotton-Ease sweater, but something I will try not to repeat when using better yarn.

This was kind of a practice sweater for me, so I am very, very happy that it turned out shaped like, you know, a sweater. Now I am feeling empowered to go back to Candy, who has been sitting on the needles at the bottom of my yarn box all summer, frog a bit, re-do a bit, and turn her into a sweater as well.

8 Comments
  1. October 12, 2005 1:20 pm

    Beautiful sweater!! You did a great job, and it looks great on you! I can’t wait to start my first sweater. Good luck with Candy!

  2. October 12, 2005 2:29 pm

    Looks great! I’ll have to take another look at that pattern.

  3. October 12, 2005 3:19 pm

    Very cute sweater! Colors and fit are just perfect!

  4. October 12, 2005 6:06 pm

    alright!!!!! that looks so great on you. fantastic job!!!!

  5. October 12, 2005 9:45 pm

    Well don’t you look fabulous! Love it! Love the shoes matching it too 🙂

  6. October 13, 2005 10:06 am

    cute! I love it.

  7. October 13, 2005 11:50 am

    it looks great on you – and look at you with matching shoes – ow classy! 😉

    Nice work!

  8. October 14, 2005 1:36 pm

    girl that turned out SOOOOO cute!! fabulous job!! and i love those sassy pink shoes!

Comments are closed.

