Skip to content

In the Mail

September 29, 2005

It’s mailbox update day! First up, my Secret Pal from round 5 sent me a gift certificate as my final gift… and the yarn I bought with it just arrived:

Habu Textiles Kusaki Zome, 100% silk. Have I mentioned that I love silk yarn? I love the way it looks rough but feels so soft. I love the way it smells. And this is my first purchase of Habu yarn, so it’s fun to see what it’s like. Now I have to come up with a perfect project for these two little gems. Maybe some thing lacy, like a little scarf. Maybe some little wrist warmers so that I can feel the silk yarn on my hands all day. Many thanks to Kelly over at Buzzville for the chance to play with this fun yarn!

And second, in non-knitting mail, I’ve signed up in an Artist Traiding Card group on LiveJournal. If you haven’t run into these before, they’re little, traiding-card-sized works of art, made to be swapped. Each month at this group there’s a theme, folks make several cards on that theme, and send them out. This month’s theme was “Home,” I made 6, and got 6 back from folks all over.

It’s just as much fun as sending yarn and socks, but it takes a little less time and costs a lot less money. Therefore it is a better way of feeding my mailbox addiction.

2 Comments
  1. September 30, 2005 11:37 am

    I have heard great things about Habu yarns–the ones you got sure are pretty! 🙂

  2. October 4, 2005 6:05 pm

    I love making ATC’s and have done a lot of trades in the past. It is a fun, small craft to do – enough for my short attention span. I haven’t done any for quite a long time… OMG I think it’s been about a year. I just have too much going on all the time. I haven’t even been knitting much lately. I guess once the winter sets in I can get into doing some crafty things again.

Comments are closed.

