Skip to content

SP6: All Your Questions Answered

September 15, 2005

I got my SP6 assignment and a message from my secret pal in my e-mail this morning! That means it’s time for me to get this questionare up:

1. Are you a yarn snob (do you prefer higher quality and/or natural fibers)? Do you avoid Red Heart and Lion Brand? Or is it all the same to you?
I’d like to be a yarn snob, but my wallet won’t always let me. Thank goodness for KnitPicks, eh?

2. Do you spin? Crochet?
No and not really. No interest in spinning, but I would like to learn to crochet.

3. Do you have any allergies? (smoke, pets, fibers, perfume, etc.)
Nope.

4. How long have you been knitting?
On and off for a long time, obsessivly for a bit less than a year.

5. Do you have an Amazon or other online wish list?
Yes, Amazon.

6. What’s your favorite scent? (for candles, bath products etc.)
Naturalish scents that aren’t too sweet. This time of year I like holiday scents (pumpkins and candy canes and such) again, that aren’t too sweet.

7. Do you have a sweet tooth?
Generally I only like sugar when there’s chocolate involved. The darker the chocolate the better.

8. What other crafts or Do-It-Yourself things do you like to do?
I like piddling with just about anything.

9. What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3s? (if your buddy wants to make you a CD)
I’m pretty passive about music–I just listen to whatever’s on. Luckily Christer has pretty good music taste. I rarely listen to MP3’s on my computer.

10. What’s your favorite color? Or–do you have a color family/season/palette you prefer? Any colors you just can’t stand?
I like all colors. All of them. Every single one. That said, I think I’m really ready for fall weather–so fallish colors sound really appealing right now. Especially browns, and browns paired with bits of pastel pinks or blues or greens.

11. What is your family situation? Do you have any pets?
Just me and my husband living here. No kids, no pets.

12. What are your life dreams? (really stretching it here, I know)
Oh dear. This question is causing anxiety! When I get some things sorted out I’ll let you know.

13. What is/are your favorite yarn/s to knit with?
Silk always makes me happy. Raw or shiny or mixed in with other fibers. But I’m also happy with Cotton-Ease. So I’m pretty easy to please.

14. What fibers do you absolutely *not* like?
I’m not usually interested in novelty yarns. But now and then a bit of sparkle or shine can be a good thing.

15. What is/are your current knitting obsession/s?
I seem to be recovering from a summer of socks… so no more sock yarn, okay? I have more than I know what to do with right now. I might like to give some lace a try soon. And I’d like to try some fair isle knitting soon.

16. What is/are your favorite item/s to knit?
Well, socks, but I’m trying to branch out a bit. Toys and bags and quick things that don’t have to fit. I want to finish up my Bubble Gum and Tempting sweaters to prove to myself that I can make something that fits. đŸ™‚

17. What are you knitting right now?
See the “On the Needles” links over there? Yeah, I’m knitting a little bit of everything. And that’s not counting a few secret Christmas presents that are on the needles. Really, I need to stop starting new projects!

18. What do you think about ponchos?
They’re fun to wear, they remind me of the ponchos my grandma knit me when I was little. But they don’t really look that good, do they?

19. Do you prefer straight or circular needles?
Either.

20. Bamboo, aluminum, plastic?
Usually bamboo.

21. Are you a sock knitter?
Yes.

22. How did you learn to knit?
I think I’ve learned to knit about 5 times. My grandma taught me to knit and purl when I was little. I took a little knitting class in Jr. High, and again in college, but never finished a project. Lately most techniques I learn from the internet.

23. How old is your oldest UFO?
Somewhere there’s a child size sweater that I started for my sister. She’s now 20. If I ever find it I guess I’ll have to rip it out.

24. What is your favorite animated character or a favorite animal/bird?
I love the Boondocks comic strip. But I’ve got most of the books already, and don’t really want gifties with the boys’ pictures on them.

25. What is your favorite holiday?
All of them. I love having excuses to celebrate or decorate or give gifts. And the big ones all fall during this round!

26. Is there anything that you collect?
Other than yarn? Not really.

27. What knitting magazine subscriptions do you have?
I subscribe to Interweave Knits, and I pick up Vogue Knitting whenever I see it. I’m not so interested in other magazines.

28. Any books out there you are dying to get your hands on?
Nicky Epstein’s Knitting Over the Edge and her new flower book, if it comes out in time.
And I keep seeing Japanese craft books with stuffed animals and creatures online, but I have no idea how to get my hands on one.

29. Any patterns you have been coveting, but haven’t bought for one reason or another??
The felted flower patterns from Pick Up Sticks. Especially the Calla Lily.

Well, there you go. But remember, this tells you something about what I’d buy for me. If I wanted to buy for me, I’d just go to the store. I signed up for this because I’m curious to see what you’ll come up with. Surprizes are good, too!

Comments are closed.

