Skip to content

Sockapaltwoza Complete!

September 10, 2005

They’re all done! Well, all except sewing in the ends (cleverly hidden through photography) and giving them a bath. Don’t worry, that’ll all get done in time to get to the mailbox a day or two early. Because these socks are traveling a long, long way (hint, hint).

These socks definitly have their quirks. But I am not going to apologize for them, nor am I going to worry about whether my pal will like them. Why? Two reasons.

1) Women apologize way too much. And often those apologies aren’t really apologies. I know because I tend to apologize for stuff that isn’t my fault or that I should be taking pride in when I talk. But when blogging I have time to stop, re-read, and realize that there is no reason to apologize for the condition of a handknit sock.

And 2) When I apologize for something being handmade then I’m perpetuating the idea that mass produced=perfection. Now really, I don’t want to believe that, do you? So I’m going to take it on faith that if my pal wanted socks from WalMart, she would have gone and bought some. But she wanted socks with messed up left twists, from slightly different dyelots, with a line skipped in the pattern. Something doesn’t have to be perfect to be good.

Sermon over, now for the pictures:

I’m pretty proud of these socks, and I know my pal’s going to like them too.

The specs:
Pattern: Petticoat Socks from “Weekend Knitting” I added 8 stitches to the pattern, bringing the total circumferance to 60 stitches.
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces in Blackberry
Needles: Bamboo US2 DPNs

One good thing about this pattern? The horizontal ribbing is super stretchy. These would fit a foot an inch shorter or an inch longer than mine, easily. This is good because I’m not so good with the centimeters(oh! another hint!).

14 Comments
  1. September 10, 2005 7:28 pm

    What lovely socks. I love the pattern and the color. I’m sure your pal with love them too, whether they are perfect or not.

  2. September 10, 2005 9:16 pm

    Great socks!

  3. September 10, 2005 11:53 pm

    Love ’em. I’ve been going back and forth but the Petticoat socks are definitely my next sock knit!

  4. September 11, 2005 5:12 am

    Fantastic socks, colour and pattern are so beautiful. Your sock pal will be delighted! Great work.
    And you are so right about the female appology phenomenon.

  5. September 13, 2005 7:39 am

    Gorgeous socks, and phooey to “perfection”. They look wonderful as they are, and your sock pal will love them.

  6. September 13, 2005 12:13 pm

    wow, gorgeous socks!! lucky pal!!

  7. September 13, 2005 2:46 pm

    damn! centimeters then they aren’t coming my way. maybe i could hi-jack the postal truck ‘cos those are some lovely socks :O)

  8. September 13, 2005 3:53 pm

    pretty socks! I’m sure your sock pal will love them! No apologies necessary.

  9. September 13, 2005 4:06 pm

    Bummer, it doesn’t sound like these are making it over to the San Francisco Bay Area… cause I *love* these!

  10. September 13, 2005 6:51 pm

    your socks are beautiful! i love them and adding that to my list of sock knitting.

  11. September 13, 2005 11:46 pm

    I love them! Don’t apologize. Nice work!

  12. September 16, 2005 3:24 am

    Hmm…did I give my measurements in inches or cm? Can’t remember. Well, a girl can dream….

  13. September 21, 2005 7:53 am

    these are gorgeous? did i measure my feet in cm?

Trackbacks

  1. Tennis Shoes

Comments are closed.

