Skip to content

A New Look

August 22, 2005

I’ve been working on a new look for the blog, and here it is! I decided to stick with the title, but add a pink sheep to the image. Wha’d’ya think?

I stuck with the title because even though it’s a bit strange for a knitting blog, I like it. “Straying Power” is one of many terms defined by Mary Daly, a post-Catholic feminist theologian. Early in her writing she decided that language was too patriarchal, and so she started making up her own terms. Her later writing reads like poetry, but is sometimes hard to decipher. So she also wrote a dictionary… or a Wickedary as she calls it. Here’s what you’ll find under “Straying Power”:

“ability to stray/stay off the tracks of traditions that betray women and nature”

Knitting, for me, is about straying… taking time to go off the path of things I am supposed to do, things that when worried about in excess do betray, and instead “wasting” time creating something. Christer, who is not the poet that Mary Daly is, but is just about as perceptive, tells me that I have a tendency to be distracted by shiny things. Same thing, really. But I’m pretty sure someone already has a blog title about shiny things.

So, in honor of me starting classes again in one week, there’s your theology lesson. If you liked it, you can find more of Mary Daly’s definitions at the online Wickedary.

Oh, and there’s a little button too, if you want it:

Now I just need to straighten up the mess over in the side bar. Or rather, get Christer to straighten it up for me. He’s the webmaster, I’m just the artist. Any advice on getting images and links to show up in WordPress? I’ll make sure and pass it along to him.

5 Comments
  1. August 23, 2005 9:47 am

    Love the pink sheep! That is a great banner… it was interesting to read where the blog name came from too. Keep straying!

    happy knitting!

  2. August 23, 2005 9:03 pm

    Oh I love you rnew button! I can’t see the banner for some reason… Maybe you are messing with it right now 🙂

  3. August 24, 2005 6:45 am

    Love the banner. I wondered about your blog name. Thanks for the explanation – very interesting!

  4. August 26, 2005 6:34 pm

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the new banner – the lil pink guy is too cute!!

    Im using plugins for images etc but it looks like CHrister has it all sorted out for you =)

  5. August 26, 2005 7:02 pm

    Oh, how I love your pink sheep — it looks fabulous!!!

Comments are closed.

