Skip to content

Magic Socks

August 13, 2005

Them there patterns? They’re magic. Pure magic.

I am amazed that simply by doing what the pattern says, I ended up with a scalloped hem on my sockapaltwoza socks.

To back up a bit, this is sockapaltwoza take two. My first plan involved many colors, and I made it several inches down the leg before I realized a flaw in the plan. I do not know how to do intarsia. So I ripped, I gave it a break, and now I am ready to start again. I wanted to give the Petticoat Socks pattern out of Weekend Knitting a try, but the pattern started with several scary looking demands. Provisional Cast-On? Hem? I’d been wondering for weeks if I could tackle this pattern, but last night I took a deep breath, and just did exactly what the directions told me.

First, cast on with waste yarn. I don’t really like calling my Mexico sock yarn waste yarn, but it was handy, and I’m only waisting a little of it. Then knit a few rows. So far so good. Just like starting a sock, but with the wrong color yarn. Next start knitting with the color I really want. In this case that would be Lorna’s Laces in Blackberry. Then the instructions said yo, k2tog, repeat. Why? I did not ask, I just followed the directions. This got me about this far…

Random pink stripe, random holes in my knitting? Still not sure where this was going, and not entirely sure that I was actually working on the cuff and not, oh, the toe. And then, with the next step (still following those magic instructions) it began to make sense.

See that? I’m knitting back down into the first purple row. And the little YO holes? They make the edge! Just have to do that all the way around. And then cut out the pink yarn…

And there they are, little bumps all in a row, ready to line my sock!

Magic.

7 Comments
  1. August 15, 2005 2:56 pm

    I think its so weird how certain patterns take about a half inch to really see it all forming… espeically with socks.. my go with the flow socks were the same way.. whats that little bobble there? that single hole there? then it all came together. I am sure these are going to be great in the end 🙂

  2. August 15, 2005 9:13 pm

    Awww, what a perfect little picot edge. Great job!

  3. August 16, 2005 7:40 am

    Welcome to the world of provisional cast-ons! That’s awesome that you tried new techniques with your sock pal’s socks. You go girl!

  4. August 16, 2005 9:05 am

    Ooooh, very pretty!! LOVE the color!!!

  5. August 16, 2005 10:09 am

    i’ve been wanting to knit those socks and have been a bit fearful! glad to know it is easier than it looks—thanks for the boost of courage :o)

  6. August 16, 2005 12:28 pm

    They are great! and Purple! Thanks for the run through, now I can try those without fear!

  7. August 19, 2005 7:02 pm

    Ooooh, those little bumps are so cute! Doesn’t it feel great when you’re not sure something will work – and then it does.

Comments are closed.

