Skip to content

French Market Bag

August 6, 2005

I’m still in Mexico, and the posts about old projects are still popping up. At least I hope they are. Not much I can do from Mexico if our server gets surly. So what’s the pre-blog project for today?

It’s another felted bag! This time it’s Knitty’s French Market Bag. Good stuff, that felting. It covers up all sorts of beginning-knitter mistakes. I saw some folks pose their pre-felted market bag over small children (yes, plural) to show how big is was. I had no small children available, but this bag was huge before felting.

And big enough to be quite useful after felting.

I really like the orange and navy blue in this bag, I need to find a reason to pair those colors up again sometime soon. This bag found itself useful in packing when we moved in May, and it’s still holding yarn in my craft closet. As Christer noted, “You knitted something to hold more knitting, I’m not sure there’s a way out of that loop.”

5 Comments
  1. August 6, 2005 4:58 pm

    Ooo…love those colors! I have made 2 French Market Bags now and just love them. One I still need to felt as it was going to be a gift and didn’t finish in time. So it will still be a gift but no need to felt it until later. ๐Ÿ™‚ Such a procrastinator I am!

  2. August 6, 2005 6:53 pm

    What beautiful colors! I love it… Felted bags are the best… Felting is just so satisfying ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Laurie permalink
    August 6, 2005 9:01 pm

    Orange and Blue are Gator Colors! You could make gifts for everyone at UF. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Denise Jean-Claude permalink
    November 17, 2005 10:19 am

    You are so talented!! I’d love the instructions for the french market bag. Is that possible? D-

  5. Julie permalink
    March 11, 2006 8:49 pm

    The actual Knittyโ€™s French Market Bag pattern is very tiny. How did you make yours so large? May I please ask you to share your pattern modifications?

    Thank you for sharing,

    Julie ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.

