Skip to content

Packing Time Again

July 29, 2005

I am really not a very good traveler. I am especially bad when preparing to travel. All the little worries keep racing through my head, and all the little tasks organize themselves into lists and then become disorganized again in my head. We are leaving for Mexico in just a few hours. And what am I doing? I am blogging.

Because you wanted to see the needles I’ve been making, right?

Two pairs and a set of big double pointed needles for my Needle Swap partner. The good news is, they work! Yup, I made ‘um and you can really knit with them. The final pair will be going to my Secret Pal in the final gift. Here’s another look at the tops:

Those little pink sheep keep creeping into my projects–on needles, on stitchmarkers–and they’re making me think of changing my blog’s name and location to something that has to do with Pink Sheep… wha’d’ya think? Don’t wanna keep moving all the time, but the name Straying Power has never really felt quite right. Pink Sheep? Hmmm, something to think about on the plane.

One more thing you can help me think about while I’m traveling–my next project. I’d like to play with this yarn, but I don’t know what it would be good for:

I love the colors, but I’m not sure what to make with the texture. Here’s a close up of the loopies in the yarn:

What sort of stitches would work with this yarn? I’ve got 8 oz total–enough for a big scarf or a small shawl/poncho. But what sort of pattern would show off the fun fuzziness of the yarn without driving me crazy? Any ideas would be appreciated.

I wouldn’t want to leave y’all blogless, so I’ve got some old projects from the days before my blog to show while I’m gone. They should post automatically each day. They might not. I’m hoping they decide to work. If you’ve sent me something (and I know there’s a few swaps out there on the way to me!) and I haven’t posted about it, it’s because I’m gone, and my mail is waiting for me at the post office. Luckily I’ll be getting home just before my birthday, so there’ll be a big party waiting for me in the mailbox when I get back.

4 Comments
  1. July 29, 2005 9:31 pm

    Cute sheep!

  2. July 30, 2005 7:26 am

    I’ve knit with boucle yarns a bunch before and it looks great when you do both knit and eyelets in my experience. Maybe try the Airy scarf pattern from Last Minute Knitted Gifts on large needles, or a small shoulder scarf would be lovely too! What a gorgeous colorway!

    Hope you have a great time in Mexico 🙂

  3. July 30, 2005 1:06 pm

    The wonderful sheep you sent to live with me happen to be in the room while I was looking at this post, and they think their pink cousins are adorable! And I agree! I havent picked up straight needles in a long time (well, *any* needles with the %#$@ shoulder but still) but with such cute sheep on them, I might consider using them instead of circulars 😉

    And while I like the “straying power title (i liked your explanation), Pink Sheep Productions has a distinct ring to it!

    Hope Mexio is lotsa fun!

  4. July 31, 2005 6:13 pm

    Oh my goodness I love your sheep needles!!!!!!!!!!Those would really sell. I absolutely love them. You are a very talented person. Enjoy your summer.

Comments are closed.

