Skip to content

Fire Engine Yarn

July 11, 2005

Remember how the last dye job came out a bit dull? Well, I wasn’t going to make that mistake again. I was going for pink and orange stripes, and look what happened:

I used 6 packs each of orange and strawberry to dye this Knitpicks sock yarn. The strawberry was so strong that the yarn couldn’t soak it all up. After an hour on the stove the water still wasn’t clear. It took quite a while to rinse it out, too. But it was worth it. I wanted pink and orange, but nice, thick red and orange stripes are good too.

Another nice thing about this yarn, it knits up nicely on size 3’s. That means I can use my new bendy Comfort Zone needles, and it means that the socks I make with it will fly, especially since I’m working on size 1’s right now.

For the next dying experiment I am trying to decide between self-striping again or dying a bunch of small bunches of solid colors. I really like Nona’s socks with a design around the foot, and I’d like to make some socks with contrasting heels and toes. But it is fun to watch the design just happen all on its own as I knit. We’ll see what I’m in the mood for next time I get the koolaid out.

One Comment
  1. July 12, 2005 9:07 am

    I love it! Its so beautiful and it seems as though everyone comes up with something so different and unique!

Comments are closed.

