Skip to content

That 70’s Yarn

June 22, 2005

Please excuse the construction around the site. The webmaster is still learning about Word Press, and I am still deciding what I like where. Until we figure everything out just ignore how things keep changing color and moving around.

Over the weekend I got a head start on the dye along. I was still waiting for the knitpicks sock yarn to show up (it came yesterday!) but I couldn’t wait any longer to start dying. So my mission: turn a huge skein of fisherman’s wool into self-striping yarn…

Now, in sock yarn the stripes only have to be big enough to wrap around a little ankle. For stripes to work with worksted weight yarn they have to be longer, long enough to wrap around a hat or a bag, at least. So I wound a skein as big as I could fit in my apartment. This involved turning a corner:

I was really impressed at the non-neon colors made from Koolaid that I’d seen over at Streets and YO’s. Pretty, huh? So for my colors I added a bit of grape to the green and blue, and a bit of red tropical punch to the orange. The results, when they were sunning on the porch:

I have not yet met a color that I don’t like. That said, I’m not entirely sure what these colors will be good for. They would have made a great shag carpet in the 70’s.

Conclusions–I think the yarn could have held more dye and ended up more vibrant. Hooray for cheap packets of Koolaid, I will not make that mistake again. And I’m not sure the mess and tangles were worth it for making self striping worsted weight yarn. I will dye the rest of my fisherman’s wool solid colors, and leave the stripes for the sock yarn. Finally, although I am impressed that it is possible to make non-neon colors from Koolaid, I think I kind of like the bright, pure, Koolaid shades.

Get ready for some bright orange and red and pink sock yarn later this week!

4 Comments
  1. June 22, 2005 6:26 pm

    Hi Katie!
    Thank you for the great stitch markers and the chocolate! I was very surprised to see the return address on the package. I had to do a double take because I have work ties to the city where you live.

  2. June 22, 2005 9:11 pm

    Welcome to the wonderful world of WP =) YOu’re gonna have so much fun with it! (As you can tell, I LOVE It, and the forums are REALLY helpful!!)

    A toast to your new home =)

  3. June 23, 2005 1:44 pm

    I love it! Congrats on your first dying experience! I think it came out great! You have a similar green to mine I think 🙂

  4. July 11, 2005 10:10 am

    Let’s hear it for Kool-aid dyeing! I love the picture of the yarn turning a corner in your apartment – classic!

Comments are closed.

