Skip to content

No More Yarn

June 7, 2005

First, it is yarn diet time. Why? Well, my stash has been growing quicker than I can knit. And then yesterday I stopped by the Joann’s here–it’s moving and having a big sale. And the Cotton-Ease was just $2.50 a skein. You do not want to know how much I bought. I am embarrassed to take a picture. Let’s just say that I’ve got enough Cotton-Ease to make at least three big projects, and enough single skeins for plenty of embellishments.

I love cheap yarn. But, even more, I love expensive yarn. And if I keep spending all my money on buckets of Cotton Ease, then I will never have money to spend on reasonable amounts of alpaca and silk. So the yarn buying stops here, until further notice.

No yarn on my trip to Madison next week. No yarn even if it is on sale, or it is discontinued. No yarn because I might not get a chance to buy it again because you know what, that’s what the internet is for. The yarn I want will always be somewhere on the internet.

But there are exceptions. One, my Secret Pal. I will buy yarn for her. I might even buy her some this weekend. Two, I want to buy a reasonable amount of sock yarn to dye. Reasonable meaning about enough for two pairs. Once my house is unpacked enough to think about dying, I am allowed that purchase. And finally, I am allowed to buy yarn for my Sockapal-2-za pal. But only, only if nothing in my current stash is acceptable to her.

With that business out of the way, I had to start something with all the new yarn! I was really wanting to give the Denim tunic from Weekend Knitting a try. But after swatching and fiddling and testing, I realized that Cotton Ease doesn’t look so exciting in seed stitch. The tunic must wait until there is denim yarn, so I pulled out the old pattern books instead.

There I found this simple sweater, Bare That Belly from The Yarn Girls’ Guide to Simple Knits.

bubble gum-pattern.jpg

But in Cotton-Ease colors: Bubble Gum Pink with Orangeade ribbing around the edges. Hmmm, maybe I’ve been lusting over Nona’s socks.

Now I’m trying to decide if it would be too much to add some rainbow stripes. Something like this…

What do you think? Hmm, I will take another look once I’m a bit further.

6 Comments
  1. June 8, 2005 4:44 am

    Oh I love the stripes! 🙂

  2. June 8, 2005 7:05 am

    Cotton Ease for $2.50! I would have done the same thing 🙂

    If you want to try dying socks… check out Knit Picks and their dye your own sock yarn for like 3.50 a skein! http://www.knitpicks.com. Also, check out http://www.streetsandyos.com/ and see Diana’s recent dying expedition!

    Thanks for your comment on my stitch markers….. I am glad I found your blog!

  3. June 8, 2005 9:28 am

    No really, it IS a different Dani!

    I like the rainbow striping in there, i think it will depend on how wide you go with it, but the way you have it sketched out, I think it will work nicely!

    And cotton ease for 2.50? I wouldnt have said no either!

  4. June 8, 2005 10:35 am

    another use for my cotton ease yarn. yippee!!!! how does your sweater look so far?! i love the design sketch.

  5. June 8, 2005 10:37 am

    in fact, i’ve knitted a jacket with those colors – bubble gum and orange with a hint of pistachio thrown in.

  6. June 8, 2005 11:14 am

    At $2.50, I’d have bought the lot. You can always post a destash page if you want to get rid of some of it and save towards a luxury yarn.

    And the stripes would be fab! (I’m getting very into color suddenly. Who knows why, but I love looking at bold colored sweaters!)

Comments are closed.

