Skip to content

Secret Pal Questionare

June 1, 2005

Here’s the Secret Pal 5 Questionare. Hang in there, it’s a long one!

1. Are you a yarn snob (do you prefer higher quality and/or natural fibers)? Do you avoid Red Heart and Lion Brand? Or is it all the same to you?
Hey, if we had the money, we’d all be yarn snobs, right? If you would like to send me buckets of cashmere, I would not complain. It seems like I’ve had a lot of Lion Brand projects going lately, acrylic has it’s place for experiments and small projects. Generally I like yarn that is natural or tries very hard to be something natural. So sock yarn that’s wool with a bit of acrylic, that’s okay. Fun fur, that is not okay.

2. Do you spin? Crochet?
No, and not really.

3. Do you have any allergies? (smoke, pets, fibers, perfume, etc.)
Nope.

4. How long have you been knitting?
I learned from my grandma when I was little, and since then I’ve picked it up now and again every two or three years. Just since January I’ve gotten hooked again, and really gotten excited about making things that aren’t square.

5. Do you have an Amazon or other online wish list?
Yes, with Amazon. I haven’t updated it for a while, so maybe I’ll do that soon.

6. What’s your favorite scent? (for candles, bath products etc.)
Simple, light, natural scents–stuff with names like rain or lemon or grass; florals are okay if they smell more green and less sweet (hmm, describing scents with words is kind of like describing wine, rather useless) Usually I don’t like sweet scents, like vanilla.

7. Do you have a sweet tooth?
More chocolate and less sweet. Generally I’m not too interested in sugar if there’s no chocolate involved. And with chocolate, the darker the better. Don’t want anything to get in the way of the chocolate.

8. What other crafts or Do-It-Yourself things do you like to do?
I tend to fiddle around with just about anything. I’m settling into a new apartment right now, so I think there might be some sewing of curtains and such soon. And I’d like to do some dying this summer, of fabric and yarn.

9. What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3s? (if your buddy wants to make you a CD)
I can be extremely passive about music–I’ll listen to whatever just happens to be on the radio. Folksy rock is always good, I can never get enough of that just from the radio, at least not around here.

10. What’s your favorite color? Or–do you have a color family/season/palette you prefer? Any colors you just can’t stand?
All colors are good. I tend to drift towards bright oranges and reds. Check out the photos a few posts down of my new living room walls. But I haven’t met a color yet that I didn’t like–there are no tacky colors, it’s just about finding the right uses for them.

11. What is your family situation? Do you have any pets?
Just me and my husband, Christer. No kids, no pets.

12. What are your life dreams? (really stretching it here, I know)
Hmmm… right now my life dreams are kind of in limbo, redefining themselves. I’m in a Masters of Theology program right now, and I’d like to be able to put that degree to use sometime. A lot of my dreams center around settling in right where I am and not waiting until some future time to be happy.

13. What is/are your favorite yarn/s to knit with?
Natural fibers–especially unusual ones like linen or silk, or interesting mixes. I love alpaca, so soft! I like verigated yarns in small doses, for scarves or socks or bags–but not for sweaters.

14. What fibers do you absolutely *not* like?
Eyelashes and fun fur, not so fun. I have a big bunch of fuzzy mohair right now, and I’m not sure that I’m really liking knitting with it. Too much fuzzy, I guess. There really is no reason for Red Heart to show up near knitting needles.

15. What is/are your current knitting obsession/s?
Socks. I think many pairs will happen this summer. They’re great for bringing along and knitting outside on a warm day. I’ve also been adding some stitch patterns to my knitting lately. I made a pair of Broad Ripple socks, and I’d like to make a light scarf with a ripple or leaf pattern soon. And once I get unpacked I’d like to make dying an obsession as quickly as possible.

16. What is/are your favorite item/s to knit?
I like knitting small things–socks or scarves when I need social or TV knitting, little toys when I want to pay attention. I’ve got one sweater on the needles, but I don’t think I’m going to put any more effort into that until fall.

17. What are you knitting right now?
On the needles: Candy, a little patch of lawn from Good To Be Girl for my sister’s new apartment, a laptop cozy for Christer, and a few other UFOs floating around. I just finished Broad Ripples, and I’m looking for my next sock pattern to start before a trip this weekend.

18. What do you think about ponchos?
I’m still deciding. Just when I decide they are ugly, I see someone who manages to pull one off and look good. The big bunch of mohair might become a poncho because I can’t think of anything else to make with it, but I am worried that I would not wear it much.

19. Do you prefer straight or circular needles?
No preference.

20. Bamboo, aluminum, plastic?
Mostly I use bamboo, and plastic Daisy needles for the big sizes.

21. Are you a sock knitter?
Yes.

22. How did you learn to knit?
My grandma taught me when I was little. Somewhere there’s a pink and purple red heart doll blanket floating around. Five or six years ago I tried to pick it up again. I was surprized how quickly the basic knitting and purling came back to me, but I didn’t know how to shape at all. I’ve had a couple spurts of knitting over the past few years, the last one started this winter.

23. How old is your oldest UFO?
There are a few projects from my last knitting spurt–about two years old. I don’t really want to finish them, although I should probably salvage the yarn.

24. What is your favorite animated character or a favorite animal/bird?
Yeah, not so much into animals or characters. I like some characters in their shows, but I’ve never been a fan of bringing them home. I have been interested lately in 50’s illustrations and animation, Mary Blair and the like.

25. What is your favorite holiday?
All of them. I like doing little things to make the small holidays special.

26. Is there anything that you collect?
No offical collections, but some things do accumulate. Books–about crafts and theology (haven’t found a book about both yet) Kitchen gadgets.

27. What knitting magazine subscriptions do you have?
I need to sign up for IK soon, I keep picking up all their issues. I usually pick up Vogue, too.

28. Any books out there you are dying to get your hands on?
I think most of my knitting covets are on my wishlist. I’m also a fan of hard to find or one-of-a-kind-ish patterns–vintage, foreign, local stuff from whereever you’re from. Anything that I can’t find in Indiana is exciting.

Well now, there are my likes and dislikes. But really, I’m curious to see what you like, and what you’d like to give me. Because if I wanted the stuff I want then I would have just bought it for myself, but I’m curious to see some of your favorite yarns, or patterns or chocolates. Thanks in advance, I am looking forward to seeing what comes!

Comments are closed.

